Research : The Nantes Institute for Advanced Study is celebrating its tenth anniversary

Research : The Nantes Institute for Advanced Study is celebrating its tenth anniversary

Thirty fellows admitted every year.

Created in 2008 as a state-approved public benefit foundation, on the initiative of Professor Alain Supiot and together with the support of Nantes Metropole and Veolia Water, the Nantes Institute for Advanced Study is an independent and original research institution based on the model of the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton (1930).

30 researchers 

One won’t find permanent researchers but annual promotions of thirty fellows, invited on an extremely selective basis. Today directed by Françoise Rubellin, the Institute of Nantes promotes fundamental research to shed light on the institutional foundations of human societies that are deeply shaken by the globalization process.
The IAS-Nantes has been admitted in the SIAS consortium (Some Institutes for Advanced Study), which brings together the best Institutes for Advanced Studies in the World, like Princeton, Harvard, Stanford, North Carolina, Berlin, Uppsala, Wassenaar and Jerusalem. This International consecration opens doors for the Nantes IAS to new strategic collaborations which will benefit the local, regional and national scientific community.

An international network for researchers 

The researchers promotions welcomed to Nantes meet on an equal footing scholars/intellectuals from all continents, therefore creating the conditions for a genuine "dialogue of civilizations" and weaving over the years an international network of researchers, unique of its kind. Since its creation, the IAS-Nantes inspired the development of other institutes in Paris and Lyon, Marseille, as part of the French network of IAS (RFIEA).

Model for research

Its special excellence has earned it these recent years, several international awards including the creation of a Chair of studies on a working partnership between France and the ILO, the financing of a chair by the Swiss government, or its designation as coordinator of Indian-European Advanced Research Network (IEARN) supported by the Riksbankens Jubileumsfond.